CoCreate User Forum

CoCreate User Forum (https://www.cocreateusers.org/forum/index.php)
-   Annotation (https://www.cocreateusers.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   How do I register a frame? (https://www.cocreateusers.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8188)

tbombardo 12-23-2014 07:28 AM

How do I register a frame?

Hey everyone,

I'm trying to learn how to register a custom drawing frame that I've created so I can use it in the software but I can't seem to figure it out...

I've kind of been self-taught on this software and some of the command line-style functions are still pretty foreign to me.

I've saved my frame as a .mi file (default.mi)

but can't seem to get past that when it comes to the docu-register-frame stuff...

I'm just not sure where I input that information, as everywhere I've tried so far just leads to errors and stuff. Anyone out there familiar with this process that could give me a quick runthrough?

Friedly 12-24-2014 01:40 AM

Re: How do I register a frame?

Hello,
you have to go to your roaming files for direct modeling/Annotarion and have a look for a file named am_customize. This file is read if you start Annotation.
There is a section with an example
;;Example: Frame registration
;(docu-register-frame
; :ui-name "Company-A0"
; :wm-name ""
; :file "/tmp/Company-A0"
; :default :everytime) ;; T/NIL/:everytime

also fill in:
(docu-register-frame
:ui-name "default.mi"
:wm-name "default.mi"
:file "C:/MyDocs/example/default.mi"
:default :everytime) ;; T/NIL/:everytime

Succes

tbombardo 01-07-2015 12:50 PM

Hey again. So I just added those lines to the am_customize file, but it's trying to get me to save it as a text file, which I'm assuming won't be read by creo. Is there a specific software I should be using to edit the file so I can save it in its original form?