CoCreate User Forum  

Go Back   CoCreate User Forum > Applications > CoCreate Modeling Personal Edition

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2011, 02:30 PM
DrRDCharbonneauAphD's Avatar
DrRDCharbonneauAphD DrRDCharbonneauAphD is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
How does one revolve an imported 2D pasted into the 3D?

Attached is where I'm at with this. I loaded 'Import 2D' as a dwg. Eventually I figured out I could copy the polyline, then paste it onto a 3D workplane.

What I am trying to do is revolve (sweep) this polyline into a 360 deg solid. At a later point, once I've mastered this, I'll want to know how to make this into a shell.

Where do I go from here? (Be nice... LOL)


Dr. C.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CoCreatRevolveQ1.JPG
Views:	215
Size:	79.2 KB
ID:	1770  
__________________
I do not recommend keeping track of days with the accuracy of stone calculators, but I recommend keeping track of the Space Agency.

http://www.drcards.comyr.com/1_16_FRONT-BURNERS.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:06 PM
DrRDCharbonneauAphD's Avatar
DrRDCharbonneauAphD DrRDCharbonneauAphD is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Re: How does one revolve an imported 2D pasted into the 3D?

I pretty much answered my own question. I used te Machine - pull angular command clicked on the polyline and lo and behold I was able to drag it into a 360 deg solid entity.

I played with the Edit - Settings - 3D Modeling - enhanced rendering

and was able to improve the quality a lot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Podskin1.JPG
Views:	183
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	1771  
__________________
I do not recommend keeping track of days with the accuracy of stone calculators, but I recommend keeping track of the Space Agency.

http://www.drcards.comyr.com/1_16_FRONT-BURNERS.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:36 PM
DrRDCharbonneauAphD's Avatar
DrRDCharbonneauAphD DrRDCharbonneauAphD is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Re: How does one revolve an imported 2D pasted into the 3D?

Another issue is the revolved solid from CoCreate was significantly different from the progeCAD entity. You can see the difference in modeling quality from one to the other though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	progeCADPodhull1.JPG
Views:	178
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	1772  
__________________
I do not recommend keeping track of days with the accuracy of stone calculators, but I recommend keeping track of the Space Agency.

http://www.drcards.comyr.com/1_16_FRONT-BURNERS.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2011, 06:50 AM
Mike Swartz's Avatar
Mike Swartz Mike Swartz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins
Posts: 322
Re: How does one revolve an imported 2D pasted into the 3D?

It's not part accuracy. It's a display thing.

What you see on the screen is just a faceted view of the real (mathmatical) geometry.
You can make it look even better (or worse) by changing the facet accuracy.
Part & Assembly-->Part Properties-->Facets
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:51 PM.



Hosted by SureServer    Forums   Modeling FAQ   Macro Site   Vendor/Contractors   Software Resellers   CoCreate   Gallery   Home   Board Members   Regional User Groups  By-Laws  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.