CoCreate User Forum  

Go Back   CoCreate User Forum > General > Make Test Posts Here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2022, 01:18 PM
ZetaE ZetaE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

I need to move my ME10 software to windows 10. I have ME10 running
in windows 10 but I use a tablet for input. I am using HP A4634A tablet with a HP A4367A for pointing on the tablet. The HP items work in Windows 95,98,and XP. I have the Mels software for windows 10. I need a new tablet and software so I can migrate to windows 10 with a tablet. Has any one working ME10 in windows 10 with a tablet. Please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2022, 05:43 AM
jkramer's Avatar
jkramer jkramer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 382
Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

from what I hear around me, using a tablet with Drafting is getting more and more of a problem, certainly in Windows 10. The tablets themselves are only available as second hand, and, as you discovered, the driver is even more of a problem.
I would really consider switching to the Classic Mode without tabet... just a matter of checking / changing these 2 lines in C:\Program Files (x86)...\Direct Drafting <version>\old_ui\me10.ini:
MELOCATORPORT=
MELOCATORDRIVER=msmouse
For myself as a non-ME10-veteran, I prefer the Ribbon Interface... really easier.
Only problem is that buttons for custom macro's need to get a new button in the new interface.

Regards,
Jaap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2022, 01:26 PM
ZetaE ZetaE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

I have ME10 running in Win10 with the screen / msmouse. I have used Me10 for years and I like the tablet as it is faster for me to use. I do use both interfaces as I support several users and have made updates to ME10 and have a CAD package that runs in ME10. I have systems running in win 98, XP and 10 all with security devices.
I can not get help from PTC with out getting new licenses and spending a LOT of money just to upgrade to a better newer computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2022, 12:30 AM
jkramer's Avatar
jkramer jkramer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 382
Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

yes, that's a general problem with software. Trying to do maintanance on legacy versions of software takes a lot of effort for a software company. Especially since not only the software itself changes, but also the operating system. Besides that, if your tablet brakes down, you may have a hard time finding a new one...
And in case of ME10 / Drafting, I do think that the Ribbon Interface is much better than the Classic Interface. It's only a matter of getting used to it...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2022, 12:37 PM
ZetaE ZetaE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

Thank you for the reply. If some one knew how to get help from PTC a solution could be at hand. I have had conversations with PTC and for real help you have convert ME10 licenses over to their new methods and spend large amounts of dollars. They will not help otherwise. I have been hoping someone who is current with PTC could gather information for me. But no so luck. I have a old Win XP computer with a complete backup computer. Back up computer has security device tablet and tablet mouse. But would like to move forward to Win 10.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2022, 10:52 PM
jkramer's Avatar
jkramer jkramer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 382
Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

With security device you mean the dongle for the license, right?? If it's a USB dingle, your license should work on Win10, I guess. Even if it's a serial port key, you could try and connect it with a serial-usb-adaper, that worked for us in the past. It's a matter of installing ME10 and the license server and give it a try. The only thing would be that you'd have to adapt to not using a tablet. Believe me, you will get used to that... and on Win10 you still have the choice between the old interface, the win95 interface and the ribbon interface.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2022, 11:56 AM
ZetaE ZetaE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

I have gotten the USB dongle working in win10. But I needed new software for checking the passwords etc.
So I have software what others may need.
I am not familiar with the various user interfaces you mentioned.
I may not have current enough ME10 software.
I am operating on version 8. Very Old.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2022, 12:05 PM
Wolfgang's Avatar
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... near Sindelfingen near Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 735
Talking Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZetaE View Post
I am operating on version 8. Very Old.
Uh .. what timestamp does the ME10.exe have?? :-D :-D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2022, 09:58 AM
Friedly's Avatar
Friedly Friedly is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgium
Posts: 74
Smile Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

Hello Wolfgang
This information you can have.
Here you are.
It runs without problems on win10 64bit.

Like Herbie "The Love Bug" he runs and runs and runs
Were you already part of the programmers back then?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	version.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	2017  
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2022, 12:03 PM
Wolfgang's Avatar
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... near Sindelfingen near Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 735
Wink Re: Help Need new ME10 tablet + software

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friedly View Post
It runs without problems on win10 64bit.
👍 stable CoCreate Software!! 😌

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friedly View Post
Hello Wolfgang
Were you already part of the programmers back then?
At the time of your ME10 version I have been an employee of CoCreate for more than 2 years. But I have not coded ME10 C-Code. For 10+ years I have been one of the Annotation developers. -- no doubt.. (annotation-) macros we created quite often in pure ME10 only.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33 AM.



Hosted by SureServer    Forums   Modeling FAQ   Macro Site   Vendor/Contractors   Software Resellers   CoCreate   Gallery   Home   Board Members   Regional User Groups  By-Laws  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.