CoCreate User Forum  

Go Back   CoCreate User Forum > Support > System Administration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2012, 12:19 PM
bbattey bbattey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Can't load or save pkg files

I'm running Creo 17 on an HP Elitebook 8530w laptop running Windows 7 64 bit with 8 GB RAM. I have the METMPDIR system environment variable set to C:\SDTEMP. After changing my user account from administrator to standard user then back to administrator, I can't load or save pkg or sdexp files. I can save and load env files.

I get the following error message when trying to load a pkg file:

Creo Elements/Direct Modeling could not unpack the file "block.pkg". Either this file does not contain a saved package file, you do not have sufficient virtual memory, or no space is left in the directory "C:\SDTEMP/2ps08pa31u5qsah4832.autotmp". (Error -1)

I get the following error message when trying to load a .sdexp file:

This file doesn't exist (Error 151)

Only Cocreate uses the METMPDIR folder. Checking Windows Explorer file manager, there is no folder named '2ps08pa31u5qsah4832.autotmp' under c:\sdtemp. There are folders named 'step_database_4832' and 'MASTER' under c:\sdtemp, and Creo must have put them there.

- Entering (display (oli:sd-inq-temp-dir)) returns 'C:\SDTEMP/'.

- Entering (display (oli:sd-inq-file-status (oli:sd-inq-temp-dir) :write-access)) returns NIL.

- Entering (display (oli:sd-inq-file-status (oli:sd-inq-temp-dir) :read-access)) returns NIL.

- Entering (display (oli:sd-inq-error-obj :all)) directly after entering the above command returns '(SYSTEM ENOENT No such file or directory C:\SDTEMP/)'.

I believe that Creo uses the temp folder to pack & unpack pkg files. So, it looks to me like Creo is unable to access the temp folder to pack & unpack, but it can write to it for other things, as evidenced by the two folders that Creo put there.

- I've set permissions for C:\SDTEMP at full access for administrators and users groups, no difference.

- I created a new user account as administrator and installed Cocreate 2008 as a totally separate installation. (This was the only install DVD I had available.) Behavior is exactly as described above for Creo 17.

I'm stumped. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:12 PM
gmatelich's Avatar
gmatelich gmatelich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Posts: 396
Re: Can't load or save pkg files

For me, entering (display (oli:sd-inq-temp-dir)) returns 'C:/Users/gregm/AppData/Local/Temp/'

maybe you could try changing METMPDIR from C:\SDTEMP to C:/SDTEMP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:13 PM
gmatelich's Avatar
gmatelich gmatelich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Posts: 396
Re: Can't load or save pkg files

or just remove metmpdir
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2012, 01:54 PM
bbattey bbattey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Re: Can't load or save pkg files

Thanks for the response. I originally didn't have the METMPDIR set, so Cocreate was using c:\users\robert\Appdata\Local\Temp & I got the same results. I put the METMPDIR variable in Windows so I could isolate the temp dir that Cocreate was using.

I changed METMPDIR to c:/sdtemp/. It made no difference. I think the forward slash in Cocreate is a holdover from the old SolidDesigner Unix days.

I started using SolidDesigner on Unix in 1995. I've consulted with the Cocreate gurus in my company & they haven't seen this before. I suspect it has something to do with Win 7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2012, 02:29 PM
gmatelich's Avatar
gmatelich gmatelich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
Posts: 396
Re: Can't load or save pkg files

did it work on this machine at one point and now is broke?

Other people can open the package files on their machines (it's not coincidentally a defective package file)?

Seems a little silly, but what if you right click on your Modeling icon and select run as administrator?

I'm using Modeling 17 on Win7, but I think the only time I've had trouble opening a package has been when it was corrupt, or i was out of space on my hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2012, 02:45 PM
bbattey bbattey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Re: Can't load or save pkg files

Yes, it worked fine before I started messing with the user account settings. Other people can open the files just fine. I actually set Creo to run as administrator from SolidDesigner.exe's right-click Properties menu.

OK, it's fixed; I ran System Restore, selecting a restore point prior to the time I messed with the user settings. I figured that if two separate installs of Cocreate in two separate user accounts are doing the same thing, maybe it's a system-wide Windows setting. As is often the case with 'puters, I'll never really know what went wrong. I'm just happy I can work again!

gmatelich, thanks much for your attempts to help out. I never did get a call back from my company's Cocreate support representative.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:03 PM.



Hosted by SureServer    Forums   Modeling FAQ   Macro Site   Vendor/Contractors   Software Resellers   CoCreate   Gallery   Home   Board Members   Regional User Groups  By-Laws  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
You Rated this Thread: